Skip to main content

Federal Regulations

Online Accessibility is based on United States and Texas Laws, along with evaluation of OCR complaints and rulings from recent lawsuits and WCAG 2.0 AA Standards.

Federal Guidelines

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1998

Requires access to the Federal government's electronic and information technology. The law covers all types of electronic and information technology in the Federal sector and is not limited to assistive technologies used by people with disabilities. It applies to all Federal agencies when they develop, procure, maintain, or use such technology.
On December 21, 2000, the Access Board, an independent federal agency, issued final accessibility standards for electronic and information technology under Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act as amended in 1998. The standards require that electronic and information technology developed, procured, maintained or used by the federal government be accessible to people with disabilities. According to the Department of Education, states that receive funds under the Assistive Technology Act State Grant Program are also required to comply with Section 508 and the Board's standards (Daigle & Kim).

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

No qualified student with a disability shall on the basis of disability, "be excluded from participation in, denied the benefits of, or otherwise be subjected to discrimination under any...postsecondary program or activity...."

Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

Specific requirements for communication, "A public entity shall take appropriate steps to ensure that communications with applicants, participants, members of the public, and companions with disabilities are as effective as communication with others."

Recent OCR Resolution Agreements and Lawsuits

The United States Office of Civil Rights (OCR) and the United States Department of Justice are responsible for the enforcement of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Rehabilitation Act. Below are websites that will provide you with information on specific rulings and complaints that deal with online accessibility.