Skip to main content


Schulenburg names winners of Emerging Writers Contest

Eight young scribes earn recognition for academic writing, fiction, non-fiction and poetry

Emerging Writers 2015

Shannon Mikesky (Schulenburg) placed first and Brittany Weishuhn (La Grange) placed second in academic writing; Alexander Taylor (Weimar) placed first and Kara Koether (La Grange) placed second in fiction; Jessica Tippie (La Grange) placed first and Brianna Ahlschlager (La Grange) placed second in non-fiction; and Craig Burns (Schulenburg) placed first and Shaylee Boehm (La Grange) placed second in poetry.

Mikesky, Tippie, Boehm and Taylor are enrolled in Blinn’s Dual Credit Program, which allows students to take college courses both for high school and collegiate credit. Beginning in the summer following their sophomore year, high school students may take as many as two dual-credit courses each semester.

“I had a very difficult time choosing winners,” contest judge Beth Wiseman said. “I think that each and every student has the potential to take their writing to whatever level they choose.”

This marks the fourth year Wiseman has judged the contest. A resident of Fayette County, Wiseman has written 23 novels and is best known for her work on the Daughters of Promise series. She has been listed on the Christian Booksellers and Evangelical Christian Publishers Association bestseller list. To date, she has sold 1.5 million books.

The contest, open to current and dual-credit students who have taken a course on the Schulenburg campus within the last academic year, was sponsored by Cengage Learning. Cengage Learning honored previous winners by featuring their work as models of exemplary student writing.

“We have such a variety of students who submit their work, from our traditional students who are right out of high school, to our dual credit students, to mothers who are returning to school to earn their degree,” said English Professor Audrey Wick. “It’s a really big honor for our students.”

Blinn – Schulenburg offers a variety of academic transfer, workforce training and continuing education classes to fit the needs of any student. Registration is now available for the May Minimester and Summer and Fall semesters. For information on course offerings and student registration call 979-743-5200.

Academic Writing
First Place: Shannon Mikesky, Schulenburg
Second Place: Brittany Weishuhn, La Grange

First Place: Alexander Taylor, Weimar
Second Place: Kara Koether, La Grange

First Place: Jessica Tippie, La Grange
Second Place: Brianna Ahlschlager, La Grange

First Place: Craig Burns, Schulenburg
Second Place: Shaylee Boehm, La Grange