Skip to main content


Blinn College-Schulenburg honors Emerging Writers Contest winners

Eight student writers earn recognition for academic writing, fiction, non-fiction, and poetry

May 22, 2018

Emerging Writers 2018

PHOTO – Blinn College recently recognized the winners of its seventh annual Emerging Writers Contest at the Blinn College-Schulenburg Campus. Front row seated (L to R): Scott Wenske, Christine Baik, Desiree Yanis and Anna Hajek. Back row standing (L to R): Blinn Vice Chancellor for Instruction Dr. Crystal Lee, English Professor Audrey Wick, Blinn-Schulenburg Campus Director Becky Garlick, Vicki Woodard, Debbie Gray, Marie Hayek, and Dr. Mary Hensley, Chancellor of the Blinn College District. Not pictured: Emily Eindorf.

Eight Blinn College students recently were recognized from more than 130 entries in the seventh annual Blinn College-Schulenburg Emerging Writers Contest.

Debbie Gray (Hallettsville) placed first and Emily Eindorf (La Grange) placed second in academic writing, Scott Wenske (Moulton) placed first and Anna Hajek (La Grange) placed second in fiction, Marie Hayek (Columbus) placed first and Vicki Woodard (Schulenburg) placed second in non-fiction, and Christine Baik (Schulenburg) placed first and Desiree Yanis ( La Grange) placed second in poetry.

“This contest is important to show students that writers matter, and even in a small community they can have their voices heard,” Wick said. “Overall, it is a celebration of writing and something that I encourage all of my students to be a part of each year.”

The winning papers can be found at Writing from past winners also can be found on the website.

“My kids and I raise backyard chickens and I am against battery cages for chickens, so wanted to bring attention to the cause,” Gray said. “I was absolutely amazed that I was selected as the winner. A lot of research went into it and it is a topic I am passionate about.”

The annual contest is open to all students who have taken a Blinn-Schulenburg course within the past academic year, including dual-credit or continuing education courses. Cengage Learning sponsored the contest and awarded gift cards to this year’s winners. Previous winners have had their work featured on Cengage’s website as models of exemplary student writing.

“I had written a piece about a woman I knew in my twenties, and it was a dedication to her after she survived the Holocaust,” Woodard said. “I am glad Elaine Thomas encouraged me to enter the contest and that I took the chance. I was very excited and proud when I was named one of the contest winners.”

Award-winning non-fiction writer and Blinn-Schulenburg continuing education instructor Elaine Thomas was the guest speaker at this year’s awards ceremony.

“This contest allowed these contestants not only to be recognized by the College, but from outside judges who are professionals,” Thomas said.

Blinn-Schulenburg offers a variety of academic transfer, workforce training and continuing education classes to fit the needs of any student. For information on course offerings and student registration, visit: or call 979-743-5200

Congratulations to all the winners in the 2018 Emerging Writers Contest!

The winners were:


1st Place: Debbie Gray
2nd Place: Emily Eindorf


1st Place: Scott Wenske
2nd Place: Anna Hajek


1st Place: Marie Hayek
2nd Place: Vicki Woodard


1st Place: Christine Baik
2nd Place: Desiree Yanis