Skip to main content

Social Sciences

Blinn College's Division of Social Sciences teaches critical thinking and observation skills, and challenges students to examine the world around us.

Programs

Contact Us

Dean

Brandon Franke, M.A.
bfranke@blinn.edu
979-209-7318

Assistant Deans

Shonda Whetstone
(Criminal Justice, Geography, Government, Paralegal, Sociology & Social Work)
shonda.whetstone@blinn.edu
979-209-7333

Dr. Katherine Wickes (Anthropology, History & Psychology)
katherine.wickes@blinn.edu
979-209-7331

Department Heads

J.P. Winston (Geography & Government)
jp.winston@blinn.edu
979-209-8523

Kenneth Howell Ph.D (History)
khowell@blinn.edu
979-209-7239

Rachel Gallardo
(Anthropology & Psychology)
rachel.gallardo@blinn.edu
979-209-7418

Robert Stanberry
(Criminal Justice, Paralegal, Sociology & Social Work)
robert.stanberry@blinn.edu
979-209-7399

News

Blinn graduate presents research at national psychology conference Blinn graduate presents research at national psychology conference

Dylan Franke was one of only six community college participants to showcase their findings at the American Psychological Association's Annual Convention in Minneapolis

A family bound by Blinn gets a special moment during the College's 145th commencement ceremony A family bound by Blinn gets a special moment during the College's 145th commencement ceremony

Dean Brandon Franke presented his son, Dylan, with his graduation scroll

Blinn introduces new Mexican American and African American history courses for fall 2022 Blinn introduces new Mexican American and African American history courses for fall 2022

All four courses can be applied toward the core curriculum American History requirement

Blinn-Bryan student plans a career helping others through social work Blinn-Bryan student plans a career helping others through social work

Blinn social work courses transfer seamlessly towards Tarleton State University's Bachelor of Social Work degree at the RELLIS Campus