Skip to main content

Five Blinn faculty assume leadership roles with the Texas Community College Teachers Association

Positions reflect the College’s commitment to teaching excellence and professional development

October 13, 2023

Five Blinn College District faculty recently were selected to hold prestigious leadership positions within the Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA).

Blinn faculty appointed to TCCTA leadership positions this year are:

  • Bryan Campus Chemistry Professor Beth Bell, who will serve a three-year term on TCCTA’s membership services committee, which reviews and recommends benefits for the organization’s members;
  • Bryan Campus English Professor Erin Hill, who will serve as vice chair of the publications committee, the group responsible for producing the TCCTA Messenger newsletter;
  • RELLIS and Bryan Campus English Professor Dr. Leslie Janac, who will serve a three-year term on the professional development committee supporting the professional growth of members;
  • Brenham Campus Parallel Studies Professor Dillon Phipps, who will serve a three-year term on the legislative committee, which monitors legislation and makes recommendations to the executive committee;
  • Department Head and Brenham Campus Accounting Professor Kwohn Whitaker, who was appointed chair of the auditing committee by the president of the TCCTA.

Phipps and Whitaker are graduates of the TCCTA’s Faculty Fellows Program.

“Blinn College has excellent faculty who care about the world of higher education and their involvement in the TCCTA demonstrates their dedication to the profession,” said Government Instructor and Past President of the TCCTA Patrick Gilbert.

The TCCTA is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in teaching and the advancement of education for community, junior, and technical colleges in Texas. Its 77th Annual Convention will be held in Frisco Feb. 29-March 2, 2024.

Enjoy this article? Share it with one click!






Get Connected