Skip to main content

Blinn inducts 82 Bryan Campus students to national honor society

To earn membership, Phi Theta Kappa inductees must earn a 3.5 GPA with 12 transferable credit hours

November 10, 2021

The Blinn College-Bryan Campus chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa national honor society recently inducted 82 students during a ceremony in the Blinn-Bryan Student Center.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Founded in 1918, PTK promotes scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship among its members. To be accepted, students must carry at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) with at least 12 transferable hours.

“These students reflect a dedication to academic excellence and a commitment to making an impact both inside and outside of the classroom,” Blinn-Bryan PTK Co-Advisor Melissa Meek said. “Involvement in PTK enhances our students’ abilities to conduct research, think critically, and become active members in their community, which are attributes that benefit them as they embark on careers or continue their studies.”

Inductees include: Lansing Allison (Bryan), Karis Alpire Montano (College Station), Allison Amos (Bryan), Addison Aston (Bryan), Michael Baber (College Station), Wilson Barlow (Houston), Adisson Bass (Bryan), Hannah Bearden (College Station), Brooke Beggerly (Rosharon), Michael Bennett (Caldwell), Elise Bober (The Woodlands), Lance Bokinskie (College Station), Victoria Buckner (League City), Juan Caballero (Austin), Kaymie Camp (College Station), Ann Coker (Denton), Yadira Colunga Reyes (Bryan), Taylor Cundieff (Kilgore), Julieanna Davis (Keller), Robert Deroche (College Station), Preston Dillehay (Pearland), John Dye (Franklin), Alyssandra Fairbanks (College Station), Lilian Fajardo Andonie (College Station), Joseph Falbo (Tomball), Janine Firment (College Station), Levi Franklin (College Station), Mya Freeman (Waxahachie), Tyler Frey (College Station), Sheldon Furqueron (Tyler), Jaclyn Garcia (College Station), Severin Gawlik (College Station), Kelsey Gibbs (College Station), Anthony Gleason (Frisco), Karla Goytia Luna (Palacios), Lukas Gutierrez (San Antonio), Lillian Hale (Decatur), Mackenzie Harden (League City), Robert Hedlund (San Antonio), Rachael Heiniluoma (College Station), Noah Holben (Dallas), Kyle Holland (Bryan), Brittani Holster (College Station), Aden Hurly (Amarillo), Calah Kehtel (Buffalo), Chloe Koll (San Antonio), Sydney Korry (Spring), Samantha Krage (Conroe), Robert Lanier (College Station), Grant Laws (Kingwood), Rosario Martinez-Badillo (Thornton), Andrew McGuire (Spring), Vanessa Montemayor (Pearland), Austin Newhouse (Rowlett), Lyanna Noriega (San Antonio), Alexa Ojeda (McKinney), Elijah Orchid (Katy), Fatima Pacas (Spring), Kathryn Pacha (Hearne), Leyla Maria Paredes Yacaman (College Station), Katie Paterson (Fulshear), Kyillah Peterson (Tomball), William Phenicie (Cypress), Jaret Pinkerton (Somerville), Ava Pointer (Iola), Gabrielle Ruiz (Elgin), Shawna Salazar (College Station), Ruben Saucedo (San Antonio), Madison Schulz (Hempstead), Holly Smith (North Zulch), Steven Smith (North Zulch), Shannon Stermer (Burlington), Quint Stone (Caldwell), Avery Tumbleson (College Station), Joshua Turner (Bryan), Erika Valdez (Corpus Christi), Piper Walsh (Bryan), Rachel Ward (Victoria), Samantha Widmann (College Station), Mary Wilkinson (Harper), Claudia Cristel Yacaman Moreno (College Station), and Anthony Zenk (College Station).

“This membership means a lot to me because I am a non-traditional student,” said Janine Firment, 40, a first-year Associate Degree Nursing student. “I knew that nursing was what I wanted to do, but going back to school and maintaining these grades gives me a great sense of accomplishment and perspective.”

Blinn offers high-quality academic transfer and career training courses with a unique combination of academic excellence and affordability. According to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Blinn’s academic transfer rate of 45.9% ranks No. 1 in the state among community colleges and far exceeds the statewide average of 24.1%. Blinn students who take 30 credit hours during the 2021-22 academic year will save 43% compared to state residents at the average Texas public university.

In addition to Blinn’s low tuition and fees, the Blinn Foundation offers almost 300 endowed scholarships available to incoming and returning students from a wide range of backgrounds, majors, and experiences. Blinn students and prospective students also can register for external scholarships and participate in grant programs.

Registration is open for Blinn’s winter minimester and spring 2022 courses. For enrollment or financial aid information, visit

Enjoy this article? Share it with one click!






Get Connected