Skip to main content

Blinn inducts 153 Bryan Campus students to national honor society

To earn membership, Phi Theta Kappa inductees must earn a 3.5 GPA with 12 transferable credit hours

November 14, 2019

The Blinn College-Bryan Campus chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa national honor society recently inducted 153 students during a ceremony in the Blinn-Bryan Student Center.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Founded in 1918, PTK promotes scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship among its members. To be accepted, students must carry at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) with at least 12 transferable hours.

“Membership in this organization reflects the outstanding academic accomplishments of our students and their dedication to success,” Blinn-Bryan PTK Co-Advisor Emily Erdmann said. “Involvement in PTK enhances their abilities to conduct research, think critically, and become active members in their community. PTK members have had the opportunity to highlight Blinn on a national level by holding regional offices and campaigning for national office.”

Inductees include: Haley Addington (Bryan), Susan Angely (Temple), Aspen Atkins (College Station), Victoria Babineaux (White Oak), Chancy Bader (College Station), Avery Baker (Magnolia), Westin Berry (Abilene), Collin Berwick (Iola), Andrew Bos (College Station), Helen Bray (Bryan), Gayla Briles (Bryan), Leslie Campa (Bryan), Laura Campbell (Katy), Dyan Cavazos (Weslaco), Haley Christian (Conroe), Rachel Coats (Crandall), Shyann Coppens (College Station), Devin Crow (College Station), William Crutchfield (College Station), Amy Cuevas (College Station), Sydney Dacus (Ben Wheeler), Isabeau Daily (Bulverde), Carlee Dearing (Bridge City), Sarah Degange (College Station), Laura Diaz (Katy), Morgan Dulak (Katy), Austin Elms (College Station), Aubrey England (Bryan), Kassandra Escamilla (Edinburg), Alexus Finnigan (Bryan), Courtney Fletcher (College Station), Alex Folwarski (Austin), Ethan Fronefield (Sugar Land), Bonnie Garcia (Tomball), Cassidy Gardner (La Vernia), Rylee Grant (College Station), Mary Grundman (College Station), Don Guazo (College Station), Jeremy Gurka (Brenham), Ramiro Gutierrez (Katy), Madelyn Hardegree (Plano), Mackenzie Harvey (Huffman), Thomas Heimer (New Braunfels), Benjamin Henderson (College Station), Ashlynn Hill (Montgomery), Kaitlin Hill (Cypress), Zachary Hill (College Station), Frederick Holcomb (College Station), Jacob Howard (Iola), Jonathan Hughes (Cypress), Emily Humes (Bryan), Imadeddin Hussein (College Station), Sydney Jenkins (Kingwood), Ryan Jernigan (New Braunfels), Brandon Johnson (San Antonio), Jessica Johnson (Frisco), Tyler Johnson (Wills Point), Mark Jones ( College Station), Tabitha Jones (Fair Oaks Ranch), Abraham Juarez (Garwood), Brinkley Keetch (Fort Worth), Hayeon Kim (Bryan), Joseph Kravchenko (Cypress), Julianna Langskov (New Braunfels), Benjamin Legrand (Texarkana), Sarah Lennie (Franklin), Alyssa Lewis (Baytown), Isabella Ling (Plantersville), Marshal Loo (Bryan), Jeremy Lovell (College Station), Devin Lovinggood (Katy), Kassidy Luck (Kingwood), Alaina Martin (Katy), Jace Mayfield (Giddings), Kaylee Mayfield (College Station), Madeleine McCall (Boerne), Liam McMahon (Houston), Gentri McSpadon (College Station), Claire Miller (College Station), Kasandra Miller (College Station), Bailey Morris (College Station), Travis Mortensen (Fort Worth), Dylan Mzyk (San Antonio), Amanda Nguyen (Houston), Tommy Nguyen (Brownsville), Maranda Nichols (College Station), Jason Nored (Bryan), Mikayla Norsworthy (Caldwell), Virgil Nunn ( Bryan), Victoria Oldfield (College Station), Alexa Olivarez (Caldwell), Kaytlin Ormiston (College Station), Andrew Owens (San Antonio), Mackenzie Palmer (Bryan), Evangelino Pangilinan (Corpus Christi), Simran Patel (College Station), Joshua Patterson (The Woodlands), Juan Andres Perez Gutierrez (College Station), Ryan Perez (Waco), Bryson Pike (College Station), Riley Pike (College Station), Kaci Polk (Montgomery), Sarah Popham (Bryan), Stephanie Putnam (Brookshire), Morgan Raz (Lewisville), Anna Rentz (Houston), Lark Rhodes (Huffman), Carrigan Rice (Pinehurst), Reece Richert (Cypress), Emily Roberts (College Station), Taylor Rogers (Cypress), Sydney Roland (College Station), Reagan Rolston (Round Rock), Shannon Ross (Austin), Anna Safstrom (Prosper), Sebastian Salazar (San Antonio), Katherine Schroeter (Rowlett), Daylan Schulz (Abbott), Traci Scott (Rhome), Renee Sheldon (Caldwell), Sutton Shelton (Cameron), Leslie Sierra (College Station), Storrey Slaughter (College Station), Jadd Smith (Cypress), Sabrina Socorro Atencio (College Station), Alexis Stavinoha (Richmond), Ashley Stermer (Bryan), Meredith Thomas (Bryan), Teylor Thomas (Brenham), Nathan Thomson (College Station), Corbyn Thonton (Cypress), Irma Tijerina (Bryan), Hank Traylor (Beaumont), Chrislyn Turner (Hempstead), Daniel Vega (Austin), Marcus Villarreal (Boerne), Danielle Vines (Lufkin), Damion Viscaino (Pearland), Thong Vu (Seguin), Georgia Walk (Corinth), Reed Weaver (Doucette), David Weber (Bryan), Eric Weideman (Parker), Joseph Werlin (Haslet), Luke Whiteley (Little River Academy), Courtney Wilkerson (Plano), Connor Wilkinson (Santa Fe), Teran Willberg (Rosebud), Madison Willey (Katy), Alexa Wilson (Porter), and Caleb Yarbrough (College Station).

In April, Blinn PTK members represented the College at PTK Catalyst 2019, the society’s annual international convention, held in Orlando, Fla. Blinn joined more than 1,000 chapters worldwide in learning leadership skills and how to effectively manage their local PTK chapter.

Blinn offers high-quality academic transfer and career training courses with a unique combination of academic excellence and affordability. According to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Blinn’s academic transfer rate of 45.4% ranks No. 1 in the state among community colleges and far exceeds the statewide average of 23.1%. Blinn students who take 30 credit hours during the 2019-20 academic year will save 42%, compared to state residents at the average Texas public university.

Registration for Blinn’s Winter Minimester is available through Dec. 15, and registration for the Spring semester is open through Jan. 20. College officials encourage early registration for convenient scheduling and placement in high-demand courses.

For enrollment or financial aid information, visit











  • Subscribe To Blinn News
  • Read Latest Tweets
  • Keep Up With Blinn