Skip to main content

Blinn College inducts 28 Bryan Campus students to national honor society

To earn membership, inductees must earn a 3.5 GPA with 12 transferable credit hours

P T K Bryan Fall 2017

November 28, 2017

The Blinn College-Bryan Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa national honor society recently inducted 28 students during a brief ceremony in the Blinn-Bryan Student Center.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Founded in 1918, PTK promotes scholarship, leadership service and fellowship among its members. To be accepted, students must carry at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) with at least 12 transferable hours.

“This is an excellent organization with programs to enhance students’ ability to conduct research, think critically, and become active members in their community,” said Drew Denman, Blinn-Bryan PTK Advisor. “PTK is a great representation of the Blinn College name, which we have taken all over the nation with students who have held regional offices and campaigned for national office.”

Inductees include: Lauren Allen (Saginaw), Samantha Argubright (Dallas), Guadalupe Arredondo (Bryan), Margaret Birrell (Bryan), Kortney Boldt (College Station), Haley Brewster (League City), Natalie Carr (Bryan), Ava Chapman (College Station), John Cherry (College Station), Kaitlyn Fair (Richardson), Jacob Hatfield (Montgomery), Anne Holcomb (Austin), Stacy Jennings (Houston), Mary Johnson (College Station), Paige Manel (College Station), Mary Morris (College Station), David Neisner (Columbus), Preston Nielsen (College Station), Noah Reinhardtsen (Cypress), Rayden Richter (College Station), Sarah Roberts (College Station), Cassandra Sanchez (Houston), Christopher Schulz (Giddings), Joseph Tyner (Cypress), Logan Wene (League City), Cameron Whitman (Sour Lake), Rachel Whitmer (Bryan), Luke Willms (Kingwood).

Blinn College offers high-quality academic transfer and career training courses with a unique combination of academic excellence and affordability. According to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Blinn’s academic transfer rate of 34.2 percent ranks second in the state and far exceeds the statewide average of 21.1 percent. Blinn students who take 30 credit hours during the 2017-18 academic year will save $3,717, or 42 percent, compared to state residents at the average Texas public university.

In addition to Blinn’s low tuition and fees, the Blinn Foundation offers more than 200 endowed scholarships available to incoming and returning students from a wide range of backgrounds, majors, and experiences. Blinn students and prospective students also can register for external scholarships and participate in grant programs.

Registration for Blinn’s Winter Minimester, which runs Dec. 15-22 and Jan. 3-10, is available through Dec. 14, and registration for the Spring semester is open through Jan. 15. College officials encourage early registration for convenient scheduling and placement in high-demand courses.

For enrollment or financial aid information, visit











  • Subscribe To Blinn News
  • Read Latest Tweets
  • Keep Up With Blinn