Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     
News Header Graphic

October 29, 2012

Hall of Honor 2012

Flencher named Blinn’s person of the year

Former College president, hospital volunteer and current professor among Hall of Honor honorees

Citizens State Bank President Ben Flencher Jr. was named Blinn College’s person of the year and four other distinguished alumni and community leaders were honored in an induction ceremony Saturday on the College’s Brenham campus.

In addition to Flencher, Grace Crawford, Bill Thane, Dr. Thomas Morris Spencer and Dr. Greg Phillips were named to the Hall of Honor, bringing the Hall of Honor’s total membership to 51.

Flencher has served on the Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative Board of Directors since 1987. He graduated from Somerville High School and earned his bachelor's degree in finance at Texas A&M University. A longtime leader in the banking industry, he also serves as board president for the Burleson County Economic Development Council and as president of Citizens State Bank.

Flencher has been an active supporter of Blinn College and the Ex-Students Association. He is an elected member of the Blinn College Foundation and currently serves as its board treasurer. Flencher is also a strong supporter of Blinn’s capital improvement programs.

The late Dr. Spencer, a pioneer in the community college movement in Texas, served as the president of Blinn College from 1947-57, guiding the College as it grew from 335 students in 1947 to a multi-campus institution with an enrollment of 1,045.

Phillips (’79) has taught biology and microbiology for 30 years, the last 25 at Blinn College. He is currently the director of Blinn’s nationally-recognized Service Learning program, the assistant division chair of the Natural Sciences for the Brenham, Schulenburg and Sealy campuses.

Thane (’55) attended Blinn from 1953-54, where he majored in agriculture and was vice president of the Beta Alpha chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society. He was secretary and president of the Agricultural Club and was also a member of Gamma Delta. Thane worked for the Texas Agricultural Extension Service of the Texas A&M System and trained numerous assistant county agents, including Doug Pierce, the current Division Chair of Agricultural Sciences at Blinn. Thane served as a guest lecturer at Blinn’s Agricultural Sciences Department while an active and retired county agent.

Crawford (’52) is a lifetime member of the Bellville General Hospital Auxiliary and has spent countless hours as a volunteer, helping the Auxiliary provide financial support for the hospital. The Auxiliary operates the New 2 U resale shop, where Crawford works every Thursday. She has also been active in promoting the excellence of Blinn College and encouraging prospective students to attend the College.

Founded in 2003 by the Blinn Ex-Students Association, the Hall of Honor recognizes the college’s most distinguished alumni, business leaders or those who have made a significant impact in their communities or professions. The Hall of Honor recipients are recognized at a luncheon during Blinn’s homecoming festivities each year.

This year’s event marks the Hall of Honor’s 10th anniversary.