Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn
Disability Header

Legal Sanctions

Students or employees found in violation of any local, state or federal law regarding the use, possession or distribution of alcohol or other drugs (as defined by the Texas Health and Safety Code, Subtitle C. Substance Abuse Regulations and Crimes) may receive the full legal penalty in addition to any appropriate college disciplinary action. Information about the college disciplinary process is available on the Blinn College website at www.blinn.edu. The most common legal violations and their consequences are:

PENALTIES UNDER FEDERAL LAW*
OFFENSE

MINIMUM PUNISHMENT

MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT

Manufacture, distribution, or dispensing drugs (includes marijuana)

A term of imprisonment up to 5 years, and a minimum fine of $250,000

A term of life imprisonment without release (no eligibility for parole) and a fine not to exceed $8,000,000 (for an individual) or $20,000,000 if other than an individual)

Possession of drugs (including marijuana)

Imprisonment for up to 1 year plus fine.

Imprisonment for not more than 20 years or not less than $5,000 plus costs of investigation and prosecution

Operation of a Common Carrier under the influence of alcohol or drugs

 

Imprisonment for up to 15 years and a fine not to exceed $250,000

Penalties may be enhanced for prior convictions and offenses within specified distances of a public college or university.

*Additional penalties may apply in resident halls. These penalties are listed in the Residence Hall Handbook.


PENALTIES UNDER TEXAS LAW*

OFFENSE

MINIMUM PUNISHMENT

MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT

Manufacture or delivery of controlled substances (drugs)

Confinement in the Texas Department of Corrections (TDC) for a term of not more than 2 years or less than, 180 days or confinement in a community correctional facility for not more than 1 year, and a fine not to exceed $10,000

Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 15 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000

Possession of controlled substances (drugs)

Confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $2,000

Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 15 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000

Delivery of Marijuana

Confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both

Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $100,000

Possession of Marijuana

Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both

Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 5 years, and a fine not to exceed $50,000

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol

FIRST OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 20 to 40 hours community service related to education about or prevention of misuse of alcohol; 60 or 120 day suspension of driver’s license.

SECOND OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500. 40 to 60 hours community service related to education about or prevention of misuse of alcohol; 120 or 240 day suspension of driver’s license.

THIRD OFFENSE: Fine not less than $500 or more than $2,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 180 days or both the fine and the confinement; 180-day or 1 year suspension of driver’s license.

An offense under this section is not a lesser included offense under Section 49.04, Penal Code. (DWI).

Public Intoxication

 

A fine not to exceed $500

Purchase of alcohol by a minor

Fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $500

Varies with age and number of offenses

Consumption of alcohol by a minor

Fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $500.00

Varies with number of offenses

Possession of alcohol by a minor

FIRST OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 8 to 12 hours of community service; 30-day suspension of driver’s license. SECOND OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 20 to 40 hours of community service; 60-day suspension of driver’s license.

THIRD OFFENSE: Fine not less than $250 or more than $2,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 180 days or both fine and confinement; 180-day suspension or driver’s license.

Furnishing alcohol to a minor

Fine not to exceed $4,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 1 year; or both such fine and confinement.