Use this guide to help stay in touch with the people who are important to you and those who are key to getting your work done.
Microsoft® Lync™ 2010 communications software automatically sets your presence based on your activity or Microsoft® Outlook® Calendar, but you can set a location or add a note to give people more details.
The following table describes the presence status that other people see for you and what the status means.
|Available||You are online and available to contact.|
|Busy||You are in a Lync call, or, according to your Outlook Calendar, you are in a meeting, and you shouldn’t be interrupted.|
|Do not disturb||You don’t want to be disturbed and will see conversation notifications only if they are sent by someone in your Workgroup.|
|Be Right Back||You are stepping away from the computer for a few moments.|
|Away||Your computer has been idle for a period of time (15 minutes by default).|
|Off Work||You are not working and are not available to contact.|
|Offline||You are not signed in. If you have blocked individuals from seeing your presence, you’ll appear offline to them.|
|Unknown||Your presence is not known. If others are not using Lync as their instant messaging (IM) program, then your presence might appear unknown to them.|
Build your Contacts list in a way that will simplify your communications and let you see presence and contact information for the people most important to you. The easiest way to find people, whether or not they’re already in your Contacts list, is to search for them in the search box. In addition to being able to search by name or phone number, you can search by another term a contact might have specified in a profile. If a Skill button appears below the search box, try searching for a skill or area of expertise, job title, and so on.
To help you organize your Contacts list, Lync automatically populates your Frequent Contacts, based on the 10 contacts you most often have conversations with. You can also pin your most important contacts to the top of this contact group for quick access. Lync 2010 pre-populates the pinned list with your team members.
Do you need to send a quick message to a whole group? You can set up a group for each team you work with so that you can see who is available at any given time or contact the entire team.
You can also drag contacts or groups from the Contacts list into the conversation window to add them.
Tip If you have contacts outside your organization, you can still add them. Just click Invite by Email, and they can join the conversation by clicking a link in the email message (whether or not they have Lync installed).
Lync not only shows you a person's status (such as, Available, Busy, or Away), it also lets you determine his or her location and helps you decide on the best mode of communication. For example, you can “tag” a contact, which means Lync will display a notification as soon a contact’s status changes to Available, so you know that it’s okay to send an instant message or drop by.
The contact card shows the person’s current location (associated with the network to which he or she is currently connected), in addition to office and phone numbers.
Lync is tightly integrated with Outlook. Not only can you manage your IM conversations through Lync, you can also send email and Outlook meeting requests to your Lync contacts. Both Lync and Outlook also let you know when you’ve missed conversations.
Note In the Lync - Options dialog box, click Personal, and make sure that the Save my instant message conversation in the Outlook Conversation History folder check box is selected.
You can set your status to Do Not Disturb to control interruptions. Everyone will see that you do not want to be disturbed, and if they try to invite you to IM conversations, you won’t be bothered with notifications (unless they are sent from someone in your Workgroup; for details, see the note below).
Note By default, your contacts are all Colleagues. To make someone a Workgroup contact so that you’ll receive conversation notifications (even if your status is Do Not Disturb), right-click the contact in your Contacts list, click Change Privacy Relationship, and then click Workgroup. To turn off all notifications from everyone when your status is Do Not Disturb, click the Options button, click Alerts, and then click Do not display alerts.