Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     

QEP  


One destination. One goal. One Blinn.

Destination Success: First-Year Focus, and is a program designed to help first-year college students make the transition from high school to college coursework. To do this we created learning communities, which research has shown increases students’ learning outcomes and retention rate. In creating these learning communities, we have identified four courses with high first-year student enrollment but success rates below the College average. The pilot program began in the fall of 2015 with seven learning communities on three Blinn College campuses.  First-year students placed in learning communities in took three courses together which included a college success course, as part of a single cohort. These learning communities included interaction among students, faculty and staff to enhance the learning experience.

For students: Fall 2016 Learning Community cohorts are on the schedule and ready for you to enroll! See your academic advisor for more information about the program and the fall schedule. Cohorts include one or two classes from following academic courses: BIOL 1408, ENGL 1301, HIST 1301, and MATH 1324, and a student success course, EDUC 0100 Journey to Success.

For faculty/staff: If you are interested in teaching in the Destination Success program or you want to be part of the implementation team, please contact the director or anyone on the leadership team for more information! 

For more information contact our QEP Director or any member of the Leadership Team:

Jeremy Thomas, Director
Jeremy.thomas@blinn.edu
979-209-7214
Carrie Coston, Academic Success Team Chair
carrie.coston@blinn.edu
979-830-4074
Tony Adam, Data and Analysis Team Chair
Tony.Adam@blinn.edu
979-830-4006 
Rachel Landolt, Student Support Team Chair
rachel.landolt@blinn.edu
979-209-7521
Dr. Mary Barnes-Tilley, Communications Team Chair
mbarnes@blinn.edu
979-830-4210
Joyce Langenegger, Professional Development Team Chair
Joyce.Langenegger@blinn.edu  
979-209-8991